

1501 Lee Highway, Arlington, Virginia 22209-1198 (703) 247-5800 An Independent Nonprofit Aerospace Organization

**Board of Directors** 

May 4, 2012

Senator Joe Lieberman Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Government Affairs 706 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510-1903

Dear Senator Lieberman,

We, the Board of Directors of the Air Force Association (AFA), a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization representing approximately 115,000 current and former Airmen and their families, are writing to express our great concern and opposition for legislation recently passed in both Houses of Congress.

Specifically, Section 308 of the House-passed Digital Accountability and Transparency Act (H.R. 2146) and title V of the Senate-passed 21<sup>st</sup> Century Postal Service Act of 2012 (S. 1789) would dramatically restrict military and federal civilian personnel from participation in events sponsored by military and veterans associations.

Two provisions of this legislation are particularly troublesome. One states any government agency can only participate in only one conference sponsored by a given organization per year. Another strongly discourages such participation by imposing burdensome reporting requirements on any government official who speaks at a private organization's conference.

The AFA hosts multiple events each year at national, state and local levels. Participation by military and civilian leaders is essential to preserving the conversation with the American public, an increasing percentage of whom have never served in uniform.

These events inform and educate attendees on national defense issues; promote educational programs encouraging careers in the scientific and technical disciplines; and provide a forum for defense leaders to explain national security policies. Promoting informed dialogue between the government and the private sector is vital in this era of constrained resources. Without opportunities to exchange information with industry, government operates in a vacuum, the result of which is uninformed decision-making, bad policy and a misuse of resources.

These conferences and meetings are essential to the development of informed policymaking. We strongly urge you to prevent these unreasonable statutory restrictions which will discourage government attendance at educational conferences, significantly alienating government employees from the public they serve.

Sincerely,

Sanford Schlitt AFA Chairman of the Board, FL

ustin Faibrlick

Gustin Faiferlick AFA Vice Chairman for Field Operations, IA

George K. Muellner AFA Vice Chairman for Aerospace Education, CA

Len Vernamonti AFA National Treasurer, MS

Tim Brock

John T. Brock AFA National Director, FL

0.20. John D. W. Corley

AFA National Director, VA

Robert W Drewes AFA National Director, UT

Angela Dupont AFA National Director, MA

Rick Hartle AFA National Director, UT

Wayne R Kauffman AFA National Director, CA

m yon Larry Lawson

AFA National Director, TX

Rodney J. McKinley AFA National Director, OK

Donald R. Michels AFA National Director, GA

John Phillips

John F Phillips AFA National Director, VA

Donald E. Taylor AFA National Director, TX

an VOMAN

Marvin L. Tooman AFA National Director, IA

L. Boyd Anderson

L. Boyd Anderson AFA National Director Emeritus, UT

Callehan inne

Bonnie B Callahan AFA National Director Emeritus, FL

Samuel M Gardner AFA National Director Emeritus, KS

Richard B Goetze, Jr. AFA National Director Emeritus, VA

Martin H. Harris

AFA National Director Emeritus, FL

Morroe &. Hetely.

Monroe W. Hatch, Jr. ℓ AFA National Director Emeritus, VA

Nachur

Dan Hendrickson AFA National Director Emeritus, UT

uneka

Harold F. Henneke AFA National Director Emeritus, IN

mas Jemp

Thomas J Kemp AFA National Director Emeritus, TX

Robert E. Largent AFA National Director Emeritus, AR

The & UK

Thomas J. McKee AFA National Director Emeritus, VA

Charles A Nelson AFA National Director Emeritus, SD

Ellis Nottingham AFA National Director Emeritus, VA

John J Politi AFA National Director Emeritus, TX

Jack C. Price AFA National Director Emeritus, UT

R. E. "Gene" Smith AFA National Director Emeritus, MS

И́аск H Steed AFA National Director Emeritus, GA

g E Sutter

Joseph E. Sutter AFA National Director (Non Voting), TN

3 Tarp li mpon

Mary Anne Thompson AFA National Director Emeritus, MA

Walter G Vartan AFA National Director Emeritus, IL

h

Mark J Worrick AFA National Director Emeritus, CO

Charles P. Zimkas Jr. AFA National Director Emeritus, CO